Depression

Summary
Depression (major depressive disorder) is a common and serious medical illness. Depression causes feelings of sadness and/or a loss of interest in activities once enjoyed. It can lead to a variety of emotional and physical problems and can decrease a person’s ability to function at work and at home. 2
Causes
Depression is caused by a combination of genetic, biological, environmental, and psychological factors2. Risk factors include, Personal or family history of depression; Major life changes, trauma, or stress; Certain physical illnesses such as diabetes, cancer, heart disease, and Parkinson’s disease, and medications3.
Symptions
Depression symptoms can vary from mild to severe and other symptoms can include changes in appetite, difficulty sleeping or over sleeping, decreased energy, slowed movements and speech, feeling guilty, cognitive problems and thoughts of death or suicide1,2, symptoms must last at least two weeks for a diagnosis of depression3.
Treatment
Depression, even the most severe cases, can be treated. The earlier that treatment can begin, the more effective it is. Depression is usually treated with medications psychotherapy, or a combination of the two. If these treatments do not reduce symptoms, electroconvulsive therapy (ECT) and other brain stimulation therapies may be options to explore. Antidepressants may help improve the way the brain uses certain chemicals that control mood or stress. 3 Antidepressants may produce some improvement within the first week or two of use. Full benefits may not be seen for two to three months. Psychiatrists usually recommend that patients continue to take medication for six or more months after symptoms have improved. 2Evidence-based approaches specific to the treatment of depression include cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT), interpersonal therapy (IPT), and problem-solving therapy3.
 
1.  American Psychiatric Association. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), Fifth edition. 2013.
2.  American Psychiatric Association. www.psychiatry.org/patients-families/depression/what-is-depression.
3.  National Institute of Mental Health. www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/depression/index.shtml.
CP-89368 Approved date 2019-5-10

抑郁癥

疾病簡介
抑郁(抑郁癥)是常見而嚴重的醫學疾病。抑郁導致情緒低落和/或對曾經喜愛的活動失去興趣。抑郁會引起多種情緒和軀體的問題,導致工作或生活中的功能降低。2
發病原因
基因、生物、環境和心理學因素共同導致抑郁2。風險因素包括:抑郁癥的個人或家族史,重要生活改變、創傷或應激,軀體疾病如糖尿病、癌癥、心臟病、帕金森病等,以及一些藥物治療3。
臨床表現
抑郁的癥狀可以從輕度到嚴重,其它的癥狀還有食欲改變、睡眠困難或睡眠過多、精力降低、活動或說話緩慢、有罪感、認知問題和自殺或死亡的想法等1,2。診斷抑郁癥,癥狀需要持續兩周以上3。
疾病治療
抑郁癥,甚至最嚴重的病例,是可以被治療的。越早開始治療,治療就更為有效。抑郁癥的治療方法通常包括藥物治療、心理治療或者兩者聯合。如果這些治療不能減輕癥狀,也可以嘗試電休克(ECT)或其他腦部刺激療法。3抗抑郁藥物能夠改善大腦中控制情緒或壓力的化學物質3,這些藥物通常需要使用1到2周才能夠改善癥狀,獲得完全的療效需要治療2到3個月2。精神醫生通常建議患者在癥狀改善后持續藥物治療6個月或更久2。具有治療抑郁癥循證證據的心理治療方法包括認知行為療法(CBT), 人際療法(IPT), 和問題解決療法3。欲了解更多信息,請咨詢醫生或醫療保健專業人士。
 
1.  American Psychiatric Association. Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), Fifth edition. 2013.
2.  American Psychiatric Association. www.psychiatry.org/patients-families/depression/what-is-depression.
3.  National Institute of Mental Health. www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/depression/index.shtml.
CP-89368 Approved date 2019-5-10